Rainbow of DumDums

Ever have a crazy thought pop in head around 1 am and next thing you know you and your son are on the couch sorting your jar Dum Dums Lollipops into piles of coordinating colors? Or is it just me?! I had a tall glass apothecary jar filled to the top with Dum Dums that I had just dumped in there, no method just pure madness. After going on Instagram and seeing on of the post made @RaisingUpRubies (if you aren’t following her you definitely should be, she has her own shop and post colorful uplifting post) had made with her DumDums all neat and organized I couldn’t get that image of my messy unorganized jar of them out of my head. So yes, at 1 AM it was turn the jar over and dump them out time and let the color crazy madness begin! Bring on the late night Rootbeer Floats, John Oliver episodes and an extra bag of Dum Dums!

DumDum2

We started with the mystery flavor (which there is way too much of lol) at the bottom, doing two rows of them, then one row grape, a row of cotton candy, two rows of blue raspberry, a row sour apple, lemon-lime, a row of peach, orange, fruit punch, cherry and this is where having the second bag came in handy since the best flavors even though they were up top and only needed one row didn’t come with as many as other flavors we now have abundance of. After the row of cherry we did a row of watermelon and then took the pink bubble and stood them up straight at the very top!

dumdums

To make all the rows even I would stick the root beer and cream soda dum dums sideways but out of sight which would allow the rows to be more sturdy and stay even as we stacked them. I am so thrilled how it turned out and love looking it each day when I am sitting at my office desk.

DumDum DumDum3

Everyone likes to ask is it hard not to eat them….I guess the good thing about doing it this way is, I love the pretty rainbow look and if I ate my favorite, which happens to be right at the top, the watermelon, there would go my pretty rainbow and having to buy the extra bag LOL I had plenty of leftovers to toss in a bowl…..

BUT THEN I HAD ANOTHER IDEA…….

Leave a Reply

